Stonehenge To Live Stream Summer Solstice For The First Time Ever



Every year thousands of people make the trip to experience the summer solstice at Stonehenge. It is a spiritual time for many especially pagans and druids.

Sadly, due to the COVID19 pandemic as will so many events the heritage site has taken the decision to cancel the event.

There will be a live stream instead made available for the first time ever.

The summer solstice runs from Sunset June 20th 21:26 BST (20:26 GMT) to Sunrise June 21st 04:52 BST (03:52 GMT)

You can’t actually cancel the summer solstice, but you can cancel people from attending the site, and there will be measures put in place to ensure people do not break the lockdown rules and try to enter the heritage site.



Stonehenge director Nichola Tasker has said;

“We are very sorry to be the bearers of this news today.”

“Given the sheer number of major events worldwide which have already been canceled across the summer, from Glastonbury to the Olympics to Oktoberfest, I doubt this will come as a huge surprise, but we know how much Summer Solstice at Stonehenge means to so many people.”

“We have consulted widely on whether we could have proceeded safely and we would have dearly liked to host the event as per usual, but sadly, in the end, we feel we have no choice but to cancel.”

“We hope that our live stream offers an alternative opportunity for people near and far to connect with this spiritual place at such a special time of year and we look forward to welcoming everyone back next year.”

“We know how strong the draw to come is for some people, but I would take this opportunity to say please do not travel to Stonehenge this Summer Solstice but watch it online instead.”

Sign up to the event here and watch live one of the most incredible experiences this year.